TONPPAMF

The Official NPPAngband And NPPMoria Forum

You are not logged in.

Announcement

July 4th, 2018 - Registrations have been turned off due to the large ratio of spam vs legitimate discussion.

#1 2008-09-30 16:40:20

pav
Website

YACD - ranger with no future

Ohai.

I've been playing this character on and off for last two years. I'm maxed at charlevel 50, in depth 3300 feet. I just don't feel I'm doing enough damage with my main weapon. The dump is at http://angband.oook.cz/ladder-show.php?id=6386

I just spent some quality time on a level with Shelob (pushover), Medusa (pusover), Arien the Maia (tough game), and The Mouth of Sauron. He's totally over my head. How can I deal with him? He erases 800 of my hp and heavystuns me in just two rounds. I had to abandon the level.

Also I don't see how can I heal effectively. Healing potions are useless at 325 hp, *Healing* is hard to get and Life costs 120k gold pieces in the store. I'm also out of Restore Mana which I usually carry.

Random questions follows.

What's the deal with artifact creation in the Guild? I cannot find an item it would accept. Can I upgraded existing egos to a randart this way?

How can I protect against plasma bolts? They seem to do ~400 damage with double fire resist. That's three bolts for my char and tombstone.

#2 2008-10-01 00:23:06

ramela

Re: YACD - ranger with no future

Here is the deal with the Mouth of Sauron: